Blizzards wrap up Season

Photo: Winners from the Blizzard Award Banquet Saturday night – Submitted


The Blizzard Bike Club season came to a close, this weekend, with the 26th Annual Awards Banquet Saturday night and the Club Cyclo cross Championship, Sunday.

40 people attended the Awards Banquet at the Quality Inn to give out the year end awards. Club President Patricia Emery spoke of the club members doing well in competition at the Seniors Games, BC Summer Games, Colter Young on the Alberta Junior Team as well as some local riders showing strong improvement in their cycling.

Sandy McDonald was the big winner with Most Improved, Masters A, Fastest Women 16 km and the Combines Cup. Colter Young picked up the ever popular Halfwheel (Crash) Trophy for a few memorable season incidents. Pat Ferris picked up the Masters C trophy, Men’s Combines, Mountain bike points and Terry Stone Memorial. Robin Baillie picked up Masters A, Fastest 16 k mens TT and a special service award for going above and beyond the call of club duty.

Colter Young overcame a flat time to pick up the ‘Muddy Face Cyclo cross Race trophy at Beatton River. He had a time for the 6 laps of 37:14. Pat Ferris was second at 38:47, Roger St. Jean third at 39:15, Gord Harris 42:10 and Barb Polehoykie 43:26. Peter King made it 2 laps before a flat tire forced him to stop. All riders got to ‘surf’ the sand pit and the rocks, in each lap which provided entertainment as well as flat tires.

Coming up: Nothing!