9.6 C
Fort St. John
Thursday, May 23, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home News Larry Evans and Karen Simpson File Papers

Larry Evans and Karen Simpson File Papers


5 of Fort St. John’s incumbent City Councilors have now filed nomination papers for the November 15th civic election. Incumbents Larry Evans and Karen Simpson both filed their papers today, joining Lori Ackerman, Dan Davies, and Don Irwin who have already filed. That leaves Bruce Christensen as the only current councillor who hasn’t made his intentions clear. Larry Evans topped the polls in the last municipal election, gaining more than 21 hundred votes, which was almost 500 more than the second highest vote getter, Lori Ackerman. Karen Simpson earned the fourth most votes in 2005. Local realtor Trevor Bolin, who was the first person to indicate his intentions to run this past summer, will also be on this year’s council ballot. So will Theresa Mucci-Rodgers, one of the most outspoken critics of council’s handling of this year’s budget process. No candidates have yet filed their papers to run for mayor, though current Mayor Jim Egliski has said he plans to run again. Prospective candidates have until 4pm on October 10th to file their papers at city hall.

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

Canfor Taylor Pulp donates thermal imaging camera to District of Taylor...

TAYLOR, B.C. - At a District of Taylor Council Meeting on Tuesday, a new thermal imaging camera was donated to the District's Fire Department. Assistant...

Air Quality Advisory for Fort Nelson