11 C
Fort St. John
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home News NPHL announces league awards

NPHL announces league awards


By Jon Zacks



- Advertisement -

Fort St. John Flyers David Alexander and Donny Lloyd were named to the West Division All-star team, as the North Peace Hockey League announced its 2009/2010 regular season award winners on Wednesday.

Falher’s Jason Bouchard headlines the list of league-wide award winners, as league MVP.  Bouchard wins his first MVP award, after finishing second in league scoring.

Hythe’s Darren Walker wins the rookie-of-the-year award, finishing just one point ahead of Fort St. John’s Adam Horst in voting. Walker was Hythe’s first-string goalie, and kept the Mustangs in many games against tough teams from the West.

Mustangs coach Wade Wallan ties for coach of the year honours, with Grande Prairie’s Ryan Widdifield.

Athletics goaltender David Larson was a unanimous pick as goaltender of the year, halting a three-year streak by Fort St. John’s Troy Hunt.

Larson’s teammate Jordan Bombier takes the most gentlemanly player award, after receiving just 4 minutes in penalties in 20 games.

Dawson Creek’s Adam Loncan dethrones teammate Kip Noble as best defenceman, beating out Flyer Donny Lloyd by four points in voting.  Noble had won the award 7 of the past 8 seasons.


Four new players graced the Western All-star team, with Fort St. John’s David Alexander making his first appearance.

West Division All-stars:

Centre: David Alexander (Fort St. John)
Left Wing: Chris Stevens (DC)
Right Wing: Mark Wallman (GP)
Defence: Adam Loncan (DC) and Donny Lloyd (Fort St. John)
Goaltender: Dave Larson (GP)


East Division All-stars:

Centre: Jason Bouchard (Falher)
Left Wing: Daniel Aubin (Falher)
Right Wing: Tyler Shantz (Lakeland)
Defence: Scott Hicks (Falher) and Graham Campbell (Peace River)
Goaltender: Ian Chwok (High Prairie)


Many thanks to NPHL statistician Chris Clegg for the background information for this story.

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

Inconnu Swim Club wraps-up season with Annual Awards Ceremony

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - On June 13, the Inconnu Swim Club wrapped-up their season with their Annual Awards Ceremony. This event was to celebrate...