10.8 C
Fort St. John
Sunday, June 16, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home News Hilderman wins first BBC Roubaix Cup race of 2010

Hilderman wins first BBC Roubaix Cup race of 2010





- Advertisement -

Gary Hilderman won a tight three rider sprint to win the first Roubaix Cup race, Sunday. Trevor McDonnell was second and Kevin Shaw third. All three had a time of 1:36:43 hours for the 47 km event. Sven Svenson was 4th at 1:37:57 and 2008 Roubaix Cup winner Bob Andrews 5th at 1:39:45.

Barb Polehoykie won the single lap 24 km event at 55:10, with Ken Nix second at 59:45, and Adam Currie third at 1:06:58.

The Roubaix Cup 3 race series features rural gravel roads under icy, snowy and muddy conditions. The series has been a Blizzard Bike Club Winter feature since 1996.

Eighteen riders started out on the Baldonnel Roubaix circuit under dry and +9 degree temperatures. Last year’s race was -27 so a year makes a big difference.

The pack really split on the gravel hill on the 242 road with Kevin Shaw, Gary Hilderman, Sven Svenson and Trevor McDonnell pulling away from the other riders. Sven was dropped on the second time over the hill. Kevin Shaw lead out the sprint and Gary Hilderman held off McDonnell and Shaw for the win.

Les Elliott was 6th at 1:39:54, Darren Guliov 1:42:23, Roger St. Jean 1:43:23, Pat Ferris 1:44:38, George Gamble 1:47:05 and Dean Lowry 1:54:24. There were 3 DNF’s.

Gary Hilderman leads in the Roubaix Cup standing with 5 points. He takes his lead to the second race, the Montney Roubaix, starting at the Old Montney Store next Sunday at 2 pm. This is a brand new course which promises to be hilly and muddy. For more, or club information, visit www.ferrisfastcycles.com

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

Election a chance to toughen climate change targets: McKenna

OTTAWA, O.N. - Environment Minister Catherine McKenna is hinting that the upcoming Liberal election platform will promise deeper cuts to greenhouse-gas emissions, including the...