Fort St. John Residents honoured at Community Awards

Must Read

Dawson Creek RCMP detachment experiencing phone system issues

DAWSON CREEK, B.C. - Dawson Creek RCMP are reporting an issue with their phone system at the detachment. According to...

Inland opens new Fort St. John Facility at existing location

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - Inland is announcing the completion of their new Fort St. John facility. According to Inland, ...

Northern Health Region sees 11 new cases of COVID-19 on Friday

VICTORIA, B.C. – 11 new cases of COVID-19 were confirmed on Friday, bringing the total in the Northern Health...

By Staff

Several Fort St. John residents were honoured on Thursday night at the annual Community Awards.

Over 50 people were nominated for an award and hundreds turned out to honour the nominees. The evening included performances by the Move Dance Centre and pianist Naomi Shore. Gail Weber also spoke about her experience volunteering at the 2010 Winter Olympics.

- Advertisement -

Mayor Bruce Lantz presented awards to three people. Sue Popesku was presented with a Mayor’s Award of Excellence for her tireless work in Fort St. John with the Fort St. John Arts Council and the Fort St. John Hospital Foundation. Brad Brain also received the Mayor’s Award of Excellence for his community work. Brad started the Brad Brain Charitable Foundation which over the past few years has raised over $60,000 for several local charities.

Mayor Lantz also honoured 11 year-old Cole Rafter for his SPCA fundraiser. In the summer of 2009, Cole approached Council to get support for his SPCA Bike-a-thon. The event was held in August of 2009 and raised over $3,000.

Below is a complete list of award winners.

Citizen of the Year – Adam Reaburn
Volunteer of the Year – NP Historicial Society
Corporate Citizen of the Year – Moose FM
Environmental Benefactor of the Year – Action BC
Family Friendly Business of the Year – Becky’s Hair Artists
Sportsperson of the Year – Bob Troback
Art and Culture Person of the Year – Russell Eggleston
Youth Volunteer of the Year – T’Keya Delwo
Cultural Diversity of the Year Award – Lisett Godoy
The Making a Difference Award – Danielle Yeoman
Accessibility Award – The Totem Mall
Volunteer of the Year – Tony Atkins
Youth Male Athlete of the Year – Kayne Dressler
Youth Female Athlete of the Year – Brittany Bakstaad
Adult Male Athlete of the Year – Adam Horst
Adult Female Athlete of the Year – Barb Polehoykie
Senior Male Athlete of the Year – Floyd Erickstad
Senior Female Athlete of the Year – Freda Murphy 

- Advertisement -

Community Interviews with Moose FM

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get the latest news delivered to your mailbox every morning.

More Articles Like This