P. Ferris edges Gamble for Hillclimb victory


Pat Ferris won the S & S Turbines Hillclimb Championship, Sunday, on the 8 km Bear Flats hill. He had a time of 25:48, just 8 seconds ahead of George Gamble. Bob Andrews was third at 30:36 and Ken Nix 4th at 32:52. Francis Plum (GP) was 5th at 30:10 and Owen Giebelhaus 6th at 34:27.


Pat Ferris was a repeat winner of this event, having won it in 2006, as well.

Conditions were excellent with perfect weather.

Thanks to Sandy for timing!

Coming up:

-Wednesday MTB race #6 on the Cactus circuit at 7.

-Thursday Baldonnel time trial at 7 pm

-Sunday is a Cecil Road race at 7 pm.

Photo – Pat Ferris rides alone on Sunday.  Submitted photo.


Kevin Shaw won the Thursday night Baldonnel time trial, with a time of 25:13. Bob Andrews was second at 25:40 and Les Elliott third at 26:06. Pat Ferris was 4th at 26:22 and George Gamble 5th at 26:27.

Gord Harris was 6th at 27:54, Ken Nix 29:10, Pat Coppens 29:18, Rob Churchill 29:59 and Melanie Chapple 31:23. Kelsey Young had 13:33 for the 8 km distance.

Thanks to Jolea for timing!

Photo – Kevin Shaw cruising to victory on Thursday night.  Submitted photo.