4.2 C
Fort St. John
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home News Clarenville Caribous win the 2011 Allan Cup

Clarenville Caribous win the 2011 Allan Cup


The Clarenville Caribous are the 2011 Allan Cup champions.

Clarenville beat the Bentley Generals 5-3 in the Allan Cup final Saturday afternoon in Kenora Ontario.

Clarenville jumped out to an early lead with three power play goals in the first period.   Joe Vandermermeer had the lone goal for the Generals which also came on the power play.

- Advertisement -

Clarenville then answered back only 5 minutes into the second with a goal from Brad Crann making it 4-1 for the Caribous. Curtis Austring and Don Morrison brought the Generals back into the game with two goals in the second making it 4-3.

The Caribous were able to hang on in the third and scored an empty net goal with only 49 second left in the game to make it 5-3.

Dale Sullivan, Brandon Roach, Travis Chapman, Brad Crann and Dustin Russell each scored a goal in the game for Clarenville. This is only the second Allan Cup win for a team from Newfoundland and Labrador.

This is the second year in a row that the Bentley Generals have advanced to the Allan Cup final and lost. They lost in 2010 to the Fort St. John Senior Flyers.

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

Northern High School Rodeo has good start to Spring season

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - The Northern B.C. High School Rodeo held their Annual Gala on April 13 at the Pomeroy Hotel & Conference...