Savage Cup Centurion to be played in Fort St. John

Must Read

RCMP looking for Susanne Rotmeyer

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - The Fort St. John RCMP are trying to locate Susanne Rotmeyer to...

Wilkinson aims to be B.C. premier after cabinet role, working as doctor and lawyer

VANCOUVER — Former cabinet colleague Bill Bennett warns anyone verbally sparring with B.C. Liberal Leader Andrew Wilkinson to be...

A QuickSketch of British Columbia Liberal Leader Andrew Wilkinson

A sketch of Andrew Wilkinson, leader of British Columbia's Liberal party:  Age: 63.   Family: Married to Barbara Grantham. They have...

The best-of-five series will be taking place from March 21 – 25, and will be played on the ice of the North Peace Arena.

This year, a representative from Quebec will not be returning for the 2012-2013 season, meaning the host province will take their spot in the Allen Cup.

As a result, this year there will be no playoff between Alberta and B.C. for the McKenzie Cup.

- Advertisement -

The winner of the Savage Cup will advance to compete for the Allan Cup, which will be hosted by the Bentley Generals in Red Deer, Alberta and will beginning on April 15.

Mike Fraser, Divisional Director of BC Hockey, says B.C. will have an exciting opportunity with the new development of the tournament.

"With Bentley, Alberta hosting the 2013 Allan Cup, B.C. gets a bye into the championship. It’s too bad that neither province has the opportunity to host a championship event like the McKenzie Cup this year, but we are excited that B.C. will host the Championship in 2014."

Last year, the Powell River Regals defeated Fort St. John’s Flyers to win the Savage Cup.

This year will mark the 100 year anniversary of the tournament, which was first won by the Vancouver Rowing Club during the 1912-1913 season.

- Advertisement -

Community Interviews with Moose FM

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get the latest news delivered to your mailbox every morning.

More Articles Like This