Regional Curlers heading to Sexsmith for Tour Championships

Spots to compete at this weekend’s Tour Championships were earned through three different Cash Spiels, held in Dawson Creek, Fort St. John and Grande Prairie.

Looking at the SunLife Financial Competitive Division, both Team Tracy Steinke and Team Jordan Steinke will be representing the Dawson Creek Curling Club, while there will be no competitors representing Fort St. John.


Sexsmith’s Team Kurt Balderston has won the event three times, and is looking for its fourth straight victory this year.

Fort St. John has two teams in the tournament’s Encana Challenge Division, with Team Jodi Busche and Team Bob Cooper representing the Energetic City.

In the Canwest Group Benefits Junior Division, Team Sterling Middleton will be the lone representative of Fort St. John.

This year, a new champion will be crowned in the Junior Division, as last year’s champion, Darren Turcotte of the Fahler Curling Club, has progressed up to the Challenge Division.

Renee Sonnenberg, Executive Director of the Tour and Peace Curling Association, says that not only are these competitions fun, but they are a great way for curlers to develop their skills on the ice.

"We see teams moving up the ladder of competition through the different divisions and since the tour’s inception, many teams have gone on to represent the Peace Region will in the provincial and national championships."

Teams will be competing for up to $24,000 in cash, along with the coveted Tour Championship Jackets.

The tournament will begin today at 5 p.m. with the finals taking place Sunday afternoon. Live scoring can be followed on the Tour’s official website.