Atom 10 Flyers soar at Williams Lake hockey tournament

The Atom 10 Flyers jumped out to a quick lead in the first period, as Flyers Chase London, Eric Melnyk, Michael Young and Nathan Brownlee each scored, while the Silverbacks scored once on the power-play, concluding the first period 4-1 in favour of Fort St. John.

The second period was much like the first, full of Fort St. John offence, and it only took our Atom team 2:25 to produce a 5-1 score, after Michael Young scored his second goal of the game.


Just 55 seconds later, Brophy Dunne scored a beauty, undressing three Silverback defenders and firing a wrist shot to beat the goalie short side, providing the Atom Flyers a 6-1 lead, while forcing the Salmon Arm coach to make a goalie change.

Switching goalies seemed to motivate the Silverbacks, as just 20 seconds after the change in net, Salmon Arm scored to cut the lead to 6-2.

Goals continued to pour in for Fort St. John, as Tyler Musgrove and Michael Young each scored, bringing the Atom Flyers goal total to eight.

However, a couple quick goals from the Silverbacks saw the lead cut to 8-4, but Noah Lang added to the Fort St. John lead as the second period neared conclusion, with the scoreboard reading 9-4 at the end of the middle frame.

The final period saw each team exchange goals, with Kurtis Lee scoring the lone Atom Flyers goal, producing the final 10-5 score.

As the buzzer sounded, signifying the end of the tournament, gloves and sticks were launched into the air, as the Fort St. John Atom 10 year old Flyers emerged as undefeated tournament champions following the dramatic final game.