Flyers emerge as 100th Savage Cup champions

The victory didn’t come easy, as at one point of the tournament the Flyers trailed two games to one, and in the fifth and final game, trailed 2-0 on the scoreboard.

The 2-0 deficit on the scoreboard came courtesy of Elias Godoy and Jason Deleurme, who scored at 6:11 and 16:47 respectively, with Deleurme’s goal coming on the power play.


With the first period concluding with the Flyers down two goals, it was Brad Fast who cut the deficit in half with a power play goal of his own at 10:15, blasting a point shot high over the shoulder of Justin Mulholland.

Still trailing one to start the third period, the Flyers once again took advantage of a power play, as Mike Lalonde tipped a point shot past Mulholland just 29 seconds into the final frame, tying the game at 2-2 and sending the packed North Peace Arena into a frenzy.

As the clock bled dry in regulation, overtime was needed to settle who would emerge as the 100th Savage Cup champions, and it was the Flyers who booked their ticket to Red Deer for the Allan Cup.

Tyler Loney kept the puck alive in the offensive zone, throwing a backhand into the corner, where Tyler Brough snagged the puck out of the air, spun and fired a quick shot opposite corner, beating Mulholland over the shoulder, and sending the Flyers bench and everyone else in the North Peace Arena into a frantic celebration.

After emerging as the 100 Savage Cup champions, the Fort St. John Senior Flyers will represent B.C. in the national AAA Senior Men’s hockey championship.

Congratulations to the Senior Flyers on a well fought tournament victory, and to the Powell River Regals for a valiant effort.

Photos from the win are below: