2013 Community Awards tonight in Fort St. John

The evening will begin with words from keynote speakers city councillor and author Trevor Bolin, Naomi Shore and Lindsay Pratt of Twin Peaks, and Red Bull Crashed Ice competitor and fireman Adam Horst. They’ll be sharing their experiences growing up in the Energetic City and how their passion and hard work has brought them success.

The nominations for each award are below:


Cultural Person of the Year – Mary Campbell, Russell Eggleston, Garry Oker, Barb Daley, Sabrina Bailey, Beth Morrison, Oliver Mott

Literacy Award – Azucena Furman, Shar’s Café, Jean McFadden, Paula London

Recreation Person of the Year – Paul Kalas, Barb McCracken, Rob Larson, Ann Green, Darren Snider, Doug McCracken, Clinton Green, Donna Sipe, Connie Richter

Humanitarian Award – Allan Markin, Connie Morris, Tom Cole, North Peace Justice Society, North Peace SPCA

Youth of the Year – Robbie McMullin, Cheyenne Radcliffe, FSJ League of United Youth

Mayor’s Citizen of the Year – Adam Horst, Michelle Svisdahl

Tickets for the event are $35 and are available at the Lido Theatre, City Hall, or the Visitor Centre.