Huskies honour players at year end awards night

Must Read

Progress continues on building temporary access road for Old Fort

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - Progress continues on building a temporary access road for residents of Old Fort. In an...

Hudson’s Hope water supply switch planned for fall

The District of Hudson’s Hope will switch its water supply to two new groundwater wells this fall.

BC sees 20 new cases of COVID-19, 2,667 cases since recovered

VICTORIA, B.C. – 20 new cases of COVID-19 were confirmed across the province, bringing British Columbia’s total to 3,028,...

Following some food, and a thank you to the various executive members and volunteers, player awards were distributed.

The first award handed out was the Rookie of the Year award, which was given to Cayle Bell, honouring a tremendous rookie season for the winger. In just his first year in the NWJHL, Bell finished the season wracking up 38 points (21 G, 17 A), and adding ten more in the post season.

His 21 goals ranked second on the team scoring chart, finishing only behind Robbie Sidhu.  Bell also received the Most Exciting Player Award to go along with his top rookie status.

- Advertisement -

Community Interviews with Moose FM

Speaking of Robbie Sidhu, the Huskies leading regular season point producer (64 points) earned himself the Most Popular/Top Scorer award in his final year with the Huskies.

Rather than just one, two Best Defenceman awards were distributed Friday, as Daylen Pearson and Wyatt Anderson split the honour, each being recognized for their top-notch work on the blue line.

The Dedication and Leadership Award was handed out to Cole Calliou, a player who had a season marred by injury, but showed his commitment and dedication to the Huskies by accompanying them on various road trips, and showing a great feat of strength by battling through a tough and frustrating season for the speedy forward.

Defenceman Braylan Eklund’s disciplined play was recognized Friday, as he took home the Most Gentlemanly Player Award.

Finally Most Valuable Player Awards were handed out, with the Regular Season MVP winner being defenceman Taylor Greatrex, who scored 13 points from the back end during the regular season, and was a defensive rock for the Huskies all year long.

Post Season MVP went to the man in between the pipes, as goaltender Travis McLean was honoured for his hard work, dedication and results in the post season, as the Huskies goaltender played tremendously throughout the Huskies semi-final playoff run.

Following the distribution of awards, Huskies head coach Gary Alexander said he was pleased with the progress made by the Junior B club this year, and expects the hockey team to make “a big leap next year.”


Like every year end banquet the pups hold, goodbyes are always a sad part of the process, and this year was no different, with names such as Robbie Sidhu, Cody Hildebrand, Jamie Watson and Ty Gullickson unable to return next year. According to tradition, awards were given to these players as tokens of the team’s appreciation.

More Articles Like This