Peace Region students would have chosen Liberal candidates

Overall, 690 schools took part in the Student Vote with over 100,000 ballots cast. In the preliminary results, the students elected a B.C. NDP majority government, giving the party 54 seats and 38.54 per cent of the popular vote. The B.C. Liberals took 20 seats, and the Green Party won eight. Although the B.C. Conservatives did not earn a seat, they took 8.59 per cent of the popular vote. 

In Peace River North, six schools took part, with 383 students casting their vote from Clearview Elementary, Bert Bowes, North Peace Secondary, C.M. Finch, Chalo, Upper Pine and Charlie Lake Elementary. B.C. Liberal Pat Pimm won with 40.99 per cent of the vote, while Independent Arthur Hadland was a close second with 34.46 per cent. The B.C. NDP’s Judy Fox-McGuire earned 16.45 per cent of the vote, and Wyeth Sigurdson of the B.C. Conservatives got 8.09 per cent. 


The students closest to voting age at North Peace Secondary gave Pat Pimm the majority of their votes. 

In Peace River South, eight schools took part, including Dawson Creek Secondary, Tumbler Ridge Secondary, Chetwynd Secondary, Tremblay Elementary, Parkland Elementary, Notre Dame, Rolla Traditional, CrescentPark, and Canalta Elementary, with 1,007 students voting. B.C. Liberal Mike Bernier won that riding with 36.05 per cent of the vote. B.C. Conservative Kurt Peats came next with 28.7 per cent, followed by Darwin Wren of the B.C. NDP with 18.67 per cent and Independent Tyrel Pohl with 16.58. 

High school students across the riding were split, as Dawson Creek Secondary actually voted for Kurt Peats, while Tumbler Ridge chose Darwin Wren and Chetwynd picked Mike Bernier.

The B.C. Liberals also won both seats in the 2009 Student Vote.