Over 200 participants take part in Skills Canada Peace Region competition at Northern Lights College

Must Read

Dan Davies officially kicks-off reelection campaign

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - Incumbent Peace River North MLA Dan Davies officially kicked-off his re-election campaign on Friday...

Dawson Creek RCMP detachment experiencing phone system issues

DAWSON CREEK, B.C. - Dawson Creek RCMP are reporting an issue with their phone system at the detachment. According to...

Inland opens new Fort St. John Facility at existing location

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - Inland is announcing the completion of their new Fort St. John facility. According to Inland, ...

For the first time in its history the event was held in one place at the aerospace hangar at the college.

Division winners will represent the Peace Region at the Skills B.C. provincial championships in Abbotsford on April 9.

In a release, Peace Region Skills Coordinator Jamie Maxwell says, “The Peace Region Skills Committee met its goal of making the event more accessible to the public by having all the competitions in one place on one day,” said Maxwell. “By restructuring it the way we did, we were able to increase student participation from Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, and Fort St. John. Not only did we have a great turnout amongst the competitors themselves, but also with the spectators.”

- Advertisement -

Below are the winners of the junior, secondary, and post-secondary divisions:

Junior Division

Gravity Cars: Chase Gibson and Allister Smith; Cage Jabs, Brayden Giroux, and Conor Riley; Max Wyant and Matthew Larden.

Spaghetti Bridge: Caleb Willms and Skyler Chowace; Ethan Willms and Tyler McElderry; Julian Craig and Bailey Schmidt.

Sumo Robot: Sarah Byng; Parker Brady; Coleman Hunter.

Secondary Division

2D Computer Animation: Zac Schwartz and Ryan Leawood.


Baking: Braxton Goldade; Tiffani Germain.

Cabinetmaking: Payton Dekker; Josef Watson; Jeremy Cronier.

Carpentry: Tory Mitchell.

Culinary Arts: Jessie Squires.

Graphic Design: Nina Zhang; Trisha Fournier; Patience Terkper.


Hairdressing: Teressa Boring; Jenna Chevalier; Sydney Blunden.

TV/Video Production: Danielle Napier and Madeline Craig; Matthew Moeller and Jaden Ford.

Welding: Kyle Degirolamo; Bradley Thorpe; Quentin Clavier.

VEX Robotics: Dustin Bramhill and Taylor Ohlmann; Denis Prudnikov; Austin Earl.

Post-Secondary Division


Esthetics: Candace Fowlow; Heather Burkinshaw; Lisa Belkin.

Aircraft Maintenance Engineering: Benjamin Couturier; Chris Huisman; Jonathan Ring.

Carpentry: Brad Johnson; Josh Belkin; Matt Link.

Culinary Arts: Cameron LeBlanc.

Hairdressing: Cori Cardinal; Allysa Linsley; Natasha Sharp, and Syndney Blunden.

- Advertisement -

Community Interviews with Moose FM

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get the latest news delivered to your mailbox every morning.

More Articles Like This