21.6 C
Fort St. John
Monday, July 15, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home News Changes Could Be Coming To The ALC

Changes Could Be Coming To The ALC


The Liberals introducing legislation that would see the ALC divided into two zones — Zone 1 would include the Okanagan, Fraser Valley, and Vancouver Island.

Zone 2 would be cover the remainder of farmland in the BC, including the Northeast.

It’s not, however, expected to impact the Peace Region’s oil and gas industry, in any way.

- Advertisement -

Acting on behalf of Agriculture Minister Pat Pimm, Natural Resources Minister Steve Thomson stipulated any future development would take into the account the importantance of the region’s important agriculture sector.

Thomson also re-iterated that the Commission would remain independent of government and be solely responsible for making the final decision.

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

Producers still cautious despite higher Q2 expectations on stronger oil prices

CALGARY — Higher oil prices are expected to boost cash flow for Canadian crude producers as they roll out second-quarter results beginning next week, but...