2.6 C
Fort St. John
Friday, October 18, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home News Northern Lights College Awards, Scholarships & Bursaries

Northern Lights College Awards, Scholarships & Bursaries


The awards were presented this past Tuesday to students enrolled at NLC’s Fort St. John Campus during the annual awards ceremony held in the cafeteria.

A full list of the recipients is below: 

·      Tara Good (Devon Canada Corporation Aboriginal Award, Heritage North Consulting Ltd./Jimmy Fields Memorial Award, Jack and Clarice Baker Award, North Peace Savings Business Management Award)

·      Atlin Braaten (Alaska Highway News Award, CanbriamEnergyUniversity Arts and Science Award,Oil and Gas Commission Award, TalismanUniversity Arts and Science Award)

·      Neve Petersen (Fred den Ouden Memorial Award, NLC Business Management Award, Northern Institute for Resource Studies Award)

·      April Davis (Canbriam Energy Health Care Assistant and Social Services Worker Diploma Award, Johnny Tashoots Memorial Bursary)

·      Richard Podolecki (Adult Basic Education Association of BC Award, Ed Clausen Memorial Award)

·      Casey Maksymic-Hollman (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award, Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)

·      Darcy Masson (Canbriam Energy Oil and Gas Field Operations Award – Aboriginal, Suncor Energy Foundation Award – Aboriginal)

·      Cormac Gaughan (Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers Scholarship, Teck Resources Award)

·      Volodymyr Ruban (Dave Johnson Memorial Award, FortSt. John Staff Award)

·      Heather Williamson (Dave Johnson Academic Studies Award, Zedi Aboriginal Award)

·      Saikat Banerjee (Devon Canada Corporation/Dave Johnson Memorial Scholarship, Talisman Power Engineering & Gas Processing Award)

·      Darlene Thomas (Morris Bahm Memorial Literacy Award, NLC Student Association and Council Award

·      Pearce Stewart (Northern BC Truckers Association Commercial Transport Technical Award,Swanberg Bros Trucking Ltd. Commercial Transport Award)

·      Lucia Misgun (Credit Union Foundation of BC Lucille Sutherland Award, Peace River District Women’s Institute Award)

·      Alysha Wiebe (FortSt. John Community Arts Council Art Award, Howard and Dorthea Calverley Memorial Award)

·      Scott Fisher (Suncor Energy Foundation Award, Talisman Oil and Gas Field Operations Award)

·      Samantha Davis (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Veronika Kuebler (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Megan Kuropatwa (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Makayla MacLeod (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Penny Mean (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      JoAnn Mitchell (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Megan Sheppard (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Cassandra Woodford (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Carly Hill (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Andrea Kurjata (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Bernadette Lamoureux (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Maricar Paracuelles (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Eugenie Schlenger (Alma Van Dusen Fund Award)

·      Taylor Tyrrell (BC Hydro Award)

·      Wayne Gordon (Canbriam Energy Oil and Gas Field Operations Award)

·      Joel Leite (BP Canada Energy Industrial Instrument Mechanic Foundation Trades Training Award)

·      Tyson Pham (Canbriam Energy Trade Award)

·      Jarret Simms (Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers Scholarship)

·      Matthew Koop (David Bradley Science Award)

·      Brett Hunt (David Crowle Memorial Award)

·      Ashley Petten (FortSt. John Community Arts Council Creative Writing Award)

·      Hailey Gorsalitz (Fort St. Elks Lodge #288 Award)

·      Emily Nolan (Fort St. Elks Lodge #288 Award)

·       Amanda Joseph (Harley Lindley Memorial Scholarship)

·      Nicholas MacKay (Light of the Rockies #190 Ab Hill Memorial Award)

·      Molly Horz (Lord Strathcona Fund Award)

·      Brenden Studer (Milton John Best Memorial Award)

·      Lisa Jewell (Petro Canada Scholarship)

·      Angela Court (Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)

·      Caitlin Royendyk (Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)

·      Justina Wiebe (Real Estate Foundation of BC Award)

·      Frances Field (Roy Cunningham Memorial Award – Aboriginal)

·      Christine Mzengeza (Swanberg Bros Trucking Ltd. Applied Business Technology Award)

·      Melba St. Pierre (Talisman Career and College Prep Award – Aboriginal)

·      Matthew Shewfelt (Blake and Tyler Peck Memorial Award)

·      Janet Sanford (BP Canada Energy Oil and Gas Field Operations Award)

·      Angela Knott (Conoco Phillips Canada Ltd. Award)

·      Melvin Cardinal (Dave Johnson Memorial Endowment)

·      Paul Mercer (Devon Canada Corporation Aboriginal Award)

·      Crystal Watts (Early Childhood Educators of BC (FSJ) Award)

·      Ty Dillabough (John Robert Belyea and Joan Elsie Belyea Scholarship)

·      Brian Linley (John Robert Belyea and Joan Elsie Belyea Scholarship)

·      Christopher Wards (NLC Achievement Award)

·      Jessica Lao (NLC Student Association and Council Award)

·      Kelly Gray (Pembina Pipeline Corporation Electrician Foundation Trades Training Scholarship)

·      Annaliese Atkins (Ruth Woolley (Harris) Memorial Award)

·      Tim Hans (Strad Energy Services Award)

·      Christian Haab (Swanberg Bros Trucking Ltd. Commercial Transport Annual Award)

·      Alwin Melling (Westcoast Energy Instrumentation Achievement Award)

·      Trevor Hale (Zedi Industrial Instrumentation Mechanic Foundation Award)

·      TylerCairns (Zedi Oil and Gas Field Operation Award)

·      Quinn Ell (Zedi Student Support Award)


get the latest news in your inbox


Local Events

Must Read

Liberals vow to implement disability lens for all government policies if...

The federal Liberals say they will evaluate all existing and future government policies for their impact on disabled residents if voted back into power next week. The...