14.6 C
Fort St. John
Friday, July 19, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home News Chetwynd Council welcomes two new members

Chetwynd Council welcomes two new members


The new faces are that of Clay Bassendowski with 284 votes, and Mel Deck with 250 votes.

Incumbent winners include Councillor Alec Brownlee with 205 votes, Councillor Rochelle Galbraith with 263 votes; Councillor Ernest Pfanner with 285 votes and Laura Weisgerber with 299 votes.

The voter turnout for Chetwynd was 20.4 per cent, a decrease from the 24.6 per cent turnout in 2011 and 31.38 in 2008.

- Advertisement -

Mayor Merlin Nichols will also serve another term, as he was elected into office by acclamation in October.

For more election coverage, click here.

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

World Jet Boat Championships – Eighth day leg results

TAYLOR, B.C. - The Eighth leg results of the 2019 World Jet Boat Championships results are in. Local racers from the Peace Country River Rats...