Mayor Lori Ackerman on the new agreement signed with the Province

Must Read

RCMP execute search warrant at Chetwynd residence

CHETWYND, B.C. - The Chetwynd RCMP executed a search warrant Sunday and found several drugs and a large quantity...

Fort St John RCMP respond to report of violent assault

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - On Sunday, January 19, Fort St. John RCMP responded to a report that a...

Oil and gas industry needs to do more to address climate change, IEA report says

CALGARY — The oil and gas industry needs to increase efforts to address climate change or risk becoming socially...
Adam Reaburn
Adam moved to Fort St. John in 2004 and he now owns both Moose FM and

Below is a message posted by Fort St. John Mayor Lori Ackerman on the new agreement signed by the Province and the communities of the Peace Region.  The new agreement called the Peace Agreement (the 2005 agreement was called Fair Share) will see the communities receive $50 million a year.

Message from Mayor Lori Ackerman:

Today the Peace River Agreement was signed; this is a good time to look back on what we have accomplished with the 2005 Fair Share MOU.

- Advertisement -

In the last 10 years the City of Fort St John has spent 100 million dollars on infrastructure. 10 years ago more than 50% of the roads in the City were unpaved and had open ditches. Today only a handful of blocks remain unpaved. Our Fair Share dollars built sidewalks and installed streetlights.

Fair Share contributed 30 million dollars to the development of community facilities including the Pomeroy Sport Center, a renovated Kids Arena and the New Fire Hall.

The City of Fort St John supports the principles included in new Peace River Agreement and we welcome the robust application and reporting expectations. This agreement provides our municipality with the opportunity to work with Industry and the Province on both municipal and shared infrastructure.


We are very grateful to our past administrators, councillors and mayors; the people whose commitment through three previous versions of the Fair Share agreement brought us to where we are today.

Thank you for your dedication and unwavering belief in community.

To the team who brought us the Peace River Agreement; MLA Pat Pimm, Mayor, Council and the CAO of the District of Taylor, our own Council and CAO, Colin Griffith and Harald Hansen; our respect and gratitude.

Thank you. Our future is bright.


More Articles Like This