Hamilton wins Canadian Grand Prix ahead of Mercedes teammate Rosberg

MONTREAL — Formula One driving leader Lewis Hamilton coasted to victory with Mercedes AMG teammate Nico Rosberg on his tail Sunday at a mostly incident-free Canadian Grand Prix.

Hamilton held the lead off pole position and surrendered it to Rosberg for only one lap during a pit stop. He finished 2.2 seconds ahead of the German.


Third-place finisher Valterri Bottas was 40.6 seconds behind in his Wiliams, ahead of the Ferraris driven by Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel.

Hamilton won his fourth Canadian Grand Prix, with previous victories in 2007, 2010 and 2012. It was his third win from pole position.

The Briton has won four-of-seven races this season. Rosberg’s string of two straight wins ended.

Bottas became the first non-Mercedes or Ferrari driver to finish in the top three this season.

Raikkonen held third spot off the start but spun on the hairpin turn after making a pit stop on lap 27 and was overtaken by his Finnish compatriot.

Much of the entertainment came from four-time world champion Vettel, who started 18th after a poor qualifying and a penalty during practice this week. The Ferrari ace needed an early pit that went slower than expected, but battled his way back to the top 10.

On lap 44, Vettel caused Nico Hulkenberg’s Force India to spin out, grabbing seventh place in the process. The cars didn’t touch and there was no penalty.

Felipe Massa’s Williams was sixth, Pastor Maldonato was seventh in a Lotus, Hulkenberg was eighth, Daniil Kvyat’s Red Bull was ninth and Romain Grosjean’s Lotus finished 10th, although he got a five-second penalty when he bumped Will Stevens’ Manor Marussia during a pass.

Both Jenson Button of McLaren Honda and Max Verstappen of Toro Rosso, already starting at the back, served stop and goes early in the race.


Bill Beacon, The Canadian Press