Canada to take on U.S. in 2016 women’s world hockey championship opener

Must Read

Dan Davies officially kicks-off reelection campaign

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - Incumbent Peace River North MLA Dan Davies officially kicked-off his re-election campaign on Friday...

Dawson Creek RCMP detachment experiencing phone system issues

DAWSON CREEK, B.C. - Dawson Creek RCMP are reporting an issue with their phone system at the detachment. According to...

Inland opens new Fort St. John Facility at existing location

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - Inland is announcing the completion of their new Fort St. John facility. According to Inland, ...

KAMLOOPS, B.C. — Canada will open the 2016 women’s world hockey championships in Kamloops, B.C., against the United States.

The eight-country tournament opens March 28 at the Sandman Centre and concludes with the gold-medal game April 4.

The Americans beat Canada 7-5 in the 2015 final in Malmo, Sweden, to claim a fifth world title over the last six tournaments.

- Advertisement -

Canada, Finland, Russia and the U.S. are in Group A while the Czech Republic, Japan, Sweden and Switzerland are in Group B.

The top two countries in Group A earn byes to the semifinals April 3. The bottom two take on the top two from Group B in the quarter-finals.

Canada has won 10 gold medals in the 16 women’s world championships held to date, with the most recent in 2012 in Burlington, Vt.

Kamloops will also host the B.C. provincial girls’ peewee, bantam and midget championships March 27-30 during the women’s world tournament.

The Canadian Press

- Advertisement -

Community Interviews with Moose FM

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get the latest news delivered to your mailbox every morning.

More Articles Like This