Justin Trudeau sworn in as Prime Minister, cabinet officially announced and sworn in

Must Read

14 new COVID-19 cases confirmed in Northern health Region, 267 across BC

VICTORIA, B.C. – 14 new cases of COVID-19 were confirmed on Monday, bringing the total in the Northern Health...

Christmas for Natalie held on Sunday, many thanks for community support

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - The Phoenix Volunteer Club held an early Christmas for Natalie Small and her family...

Council presented with Base Budgets requests for 2021

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - The City of Fort St. John City Council Committee of the Whole...

After the landslide victory for the Liberal party more than two weeks ago in the 42nd Federal Election, Justin Trudeau officially starts his first term as Prime Minister today.

He was sworn in this morning at Rideau Hall.

Altogether, the country saw the swearing in of 31 new cabinet ministers this morning:

  1. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, also minister of intergovernmental affairs and youth
  2. Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Ralph Goodale;
  3. Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Lawrence MacAulay;
  4. Minister of Foreign Affairs Stephane Dion;
  5. Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship John McCallum;
  6. Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Carolyn Bennett;
  7. President of the Treasury Board Scott Brison;
  8. Leader of the Government in the House of Commons Dominic LeBlanc;
  9. Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Navdeep Singh Bains;
  10. Minister of Finance William Morneau;
  11. Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada Jody Wilson-Raybould;
  12. Minister of Public Services and Procurement Judy Foote;
  13. Minister of International Trade Chrystia Freeland;
  14. Minister of Health Jane Philpott;
  15. Minister of Families, Children and Social Development Jean-Yves Duclos;
  16. Minister of Transport Marc Garneau;
  17. Minister of International Development and La Francophonie Marie-Claude Bibeau;
  18. Minister of Natural Resources James Carr;
  19. Minister of Canadian Heritage Melanie Joly;
  20. Minister of National Revenue Diane Lebouthillier;
  21. Minister of Veterans Affairs Kent Hehr, also associate minister of National Defence;
  22. Minister of Environment and Climate Change Catherine McKenna;
  23. Minister of National Defence Harjit Singh Sajjan;
  24. Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour MaryAnn Mihychuk;
  25. Minister of Infrastructure and Communities Amarjeet Sohi;
  26. Minister of Democratic Institutions Maryam Monsef;
  27. Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities Carla Qualtrough;
  28. Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard Hunter Tootoo;
  29. Minister of Science Kirsty Duncan;
  30. Minister of Status of Women Patricia A. Hajdu;
  31. Minister of Small Business and Tourism Bardish Chagger.
- Advertisement -

Trudeau appointed 3 MPs from BC to join his cabinet:

  1. Jody Wilson-Raybould of Vancouver-Granville: Minister of Justice
  2. Harjit Sajjan of Vancouver South: Minister of Defence
  3. Carla Qualtrough of Delta: Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities

Liberals won 17 out of 42 seats in BC – the majority of which are in Metro Vancouver.

BC Premier Christy Clark issued a public statement following the new cabinet and government being sworn in, saying the following:

“On behalf of the Government of British Columbia, I want to congratulate Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and his newly appointed cabinet ministers.

I am pleased to see British Columbia will be well represented at the cabinet table. I know ministers Jody Wilson-Raybauld, Harjit Sajjan and Carla Qualtrough will be strong, passionate advocates not just for our province, but for our shared priorities, like renewing the Softwood Lumber Agreement, LNG development, increasing support for
international trade, investing in infrastructure and immigration, as well as fully including First Nations in our diverse economy.

Working on these priorities will ensure British Columbia continues to create jobs and grow its substantial contribution to confederation.

I am looking forward to working with Prime Minister Trudeau and his cabinet as we continue to build a stronger, more-prosperous Canada and British Columbia.”

- Advertisement -

Community Interviews with Moose FM

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get the latest news delivered to your mailbox every morning.

More Articles Like This