First Day Of 54th Oilmen’s Tournament Sees Two Playoff Rounds

Teeing off on Hole #1 at the 2016 Oilmen's Golf Tournament. Photo credit: Chris Newton

CHARLIE LAKE, B.C. – It was a day of intense 18-hole golf at the 54th Annual Fort St. John Petroleum Association’s Oilmen’s Golf Tournament at Lakepoint Golf & Country Club.

In the Championship Flight, last year’s champion Kevin McNee went into a 4-hole playoff round against Percy Peterkin. Peterkin couldn’t force an upset, eventually falling to the defending champion after 22 holes. McNee will play against Len Holland, who won his match against Manny Gairdner. Warren Haugan and Spencer Gairdner also won their pairings against Troy Dorie and Garry Ford. Haugan and Gairdner will tee off tomorrow morning at 9:00 in a foursome with McNee and Holland.

A full list of the day’s matches will be posted later Friday┬ámorning.