Flyers hand out annual awards and show off Coy Cup

Must Read

Disrespectful that Horgan won’t meet during northern B.C. tour: hereditary chief

HOUSTON, B.C. — It's disrespectful that Premier John Horgan won't meet with five hereditary chiefs who oppose a natural...

Trudeau, ministers head to Winnipeg for cabinet retreat, western outreach

OTTAWA — Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is reviving his practice of holding periodic cabinet retreats outside the nation's capital —...

UN Chair says he didn’t know most First Nations support building the Coastal Gas Link Pipeline

VANCOUVER, B.C. - The Chairperson of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination says he didn’t know...

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – The Fort St. John Senior Flyers held their annual awards ceremony on Saturday evening.

The Flyers had a phenomenal 2015-2016 hockey season, winning the Coy Cup for the second year in a row. The victory helped soften the blow after the team was disqualified from the North Peace Hockey League playoffs after a mix-up with their roster.

A total of eight awards were handed out on Saturday. Jeff Shipton was named the team’s Playoff MVP, while Rick Cleaver was deemed the team’s Most Valuable Player during the regular season. Cleaver was also the team’s Top Scorer during last season’s campaign. At the other end of the rink, Brady Busche got the nod as the Flyers’ Top Defensive Player.

- Advertisement -

Former Fort St. John Huskies goaltender Travis McLean picked up the Rookie of the Year trophy. As far as gentlemen go, Joey Massingham was awarded the team’s Most Gentlemanly Player trophy. The team’s Most Dedicated and Most Popular player awards were handed out to Andrew Payou and Troy Hunt respectively.

More Articles Like This