Peace Region athletes compete in 15th annual Northern Classic

Karen Dallas and Alyssa Coppolino competing in the Women's Physique category at the Northern Classic on June 18th. Photo by Jordan Kosinsky.

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – It was an event full of toned bodies at the North Peace Cultural Centre on Saturday for the 15th Annual Northern Classic Bodybuilding and Fitness Competition.

Over 100 contestants from across the province, including a handful from the Fort St. John area were in the competition which is sanctioned by the BC Amateur Bodybuilding Association. BCABBA President Ross Duncan was in town to personally present trophies to some of the winners, including Jeni Broscoe, who was named the association’s Most Outstanding Promoter.


Each of the contestants was registered in one of a number of categories. On the men’s side, contestants were entered in either: Physique, Classic Physique, or Bodybuilding. The women’s side saw competitors in either: Bikini, Figure, Fitness, and Physique.

A number of local athletes were in competition at both the pre-judging and the main event on Saturday. Brittany Mills, Justine Crick, and Janelle Shelfow placed 5th, 4th and 1st respectively in the open age Bikini Group D. Amber Vieweg placed 7th in the open age Bikini Group C. The mother and daughter duo of Raena Shuster and Laurie Wright took to the stage and placed in 1st and 2nd in their respective categories. Shuster was the lone competitor in the women’s Fitness category, while Wright was one of two contestants in the women’s Figure – Grandmaster age group. Shelly Osborne also placed in 2nd of two competitors in the Figure – Master category, and Janine Nichols placed 4th in the Figure – Open category. In his first-ever competition, Inder Grewal placed 9th in the Men’s Physique medium height group.

The winners from Saturday’s Northern Classic include:

Amanda Ancheta – overall Bikini Champion

Christime Wallace – overall Women’s Figure Champion

Alyssa Coppolino – overall Women’s Physique Champion/Best Poser

Nate Cassie – overall Men’s Physique Champion

John Le – overall Men’s Classic Physique Champion

Ladonn Miller – overall Bodybuilding Champion

Camilo Jimenez – Best Poser