Dawson defends in Beatton to Death bike race

Beatton to Death winner Ben Dawson with his race trophy. Photo by supplied.

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – Ben Dawson defended his crown in the Blizzard Bike Club’s 4th Annual Beatton to Death mountain bike race on Saturday.

Dawson wasn’t however guaranteed a win during the race, which took place on the Beatton Park trails. Chetwynd’s Corwin Bowers was leading the pack up to the 1.5 hour mark, before Dawson took over to win the event with 17 laps covered over 6 hours.


The Top 5 riders from the race were:

  1. 1. Ben Dawson 17 laps
  2. Corwin Bowers 16 laps
  3. Josh Telizyn/Tyler Brunet covered 16 laps as a relay team
  4. Dawit Feyissa 14 laps
  5. Robert Sapp 12 laps

On Sunday, it was Matt Gilmore taking the title in the Kal Tire road race, covering the 45 kilometre distance in a time of 1:20:00 hours. Richard Wood edged out Kristine Bock for second at 1:21:14. Ard Hoogenboom was 4th at 1:25:13 and 5th was Pat Ferris at 1:27:13.