Fort St. John hosts Peace Motorcross Association MX Series Round 5

Sam Dooley and Daniel Sivorot crossing the finish line at the Fort St. John Motocross Track. Photo by Chris Newton

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – It was a day of exciting racing yesterday at the Fort St. John Motocross Track for the 5th Round of the Peace Motocross Association MX Series.

Chelan Merwin ended up taking first overall after the day’s two motos in the Ladies class, Reed Merrick took first spot in the Superminis. Merrick also took first place in the Youth class. The smallest bikes to go around the main track were the 50cc’s ridden by riders aged 7-9. Carter Roberts took first place in that class, while Easton Hall was the day’s top 65cc rider. On the 80cc bikes, Riley Sorenson won in the 12-16 year-old subclass, while LT McDonell was the top rider aged 7-11.

Brennan Voth earned the top spot in both the Schoolboy and the MX2 Junior category, Kiegan Dodd took first out of the MX2 Novices, while the MX2 Intermediate and Expert Classes were won by Tanner Merrick and Dylan Johnson respectively.

In the rest of the MX3 races, Wayne Krushell took top spot after two heats in the MX3 Novice class, Jason Ruecker went 1st in the MX3 Juniors. Dylan Johnson took his second first-place finish, this time in the MX3 Intermediate class, and the MX3 Expert top spot was earned by Dallas Taylor.

The last three classes are those containing some of the most experienced riders: The Vet Junior, Vet Master and 25+ classes. Those were won by Jason Ruecker, Cole Lewis, and Erik Harvey respectively.