Mason wins points challenge at Doug Babcock Memorial in Taylor

Racing during the Doug Babcock Memorial at the Taylor Speedway. Photo by Jordan Kosinsky.

TAYLOR, B.C. – It was an exciting weekend of dirt oval racing at the Taylor Speedway for the annual Doug Babcock Memorial race.

The races started on Saturday afternoon at 5:00 p.m., with Round 2 on Sunday at 1:00 p.m.


Tyson LeClerc and Anthony Seguin split first-place wins in the Junior Mini Sprints, with LeClerc taking first on Saturday, before dropping to third on Sunday to Seguin and Colton Beaumont. Cody LeClerc was the lone entrant in the Senior Mini Sprints on Saturday, but ended up fending off Eddie Scarfo on Sunday to take the win in that class.

Dakota Krahn ended up winning the Mini Juniors two days in a row over the weekend, while the Mini Adults were split by Calvin Hildebrand on Saturday. Hildebrand didn’t end up making the top 3 on Sunday, which saw Saturday’s 2nd place winner Clint Mason take first.

In the IMCA Modified class, it was Al Scarfo taking first on Saturday, and Johnny Beaumont with the win on Sunday. Beaumont also ended up with third overall in the weekend’s Doug Babcock Memorial All Points Challenge, behind Dakota Krahn in second place, and Clint Mason taking first place.