11 C
Fort St. John
Monday, May 20, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home Sports Scoffin and Martin win divisions at Dawson Creek Cashspiel

Scoffin and Martin win divisions at Dawson Creek Cashspiel


DAWSON CREEK, B.C. – The third leg of the Pomeroy Inn & Suites Peace Curling Tour wrapped up at the Dawson Creek Curling Club last Sunday.

28 teams in the Competitive and Challenge divisions competed in two triple knockout events, while another 10 junior teams played in a round-robin.

Team Scoffin from Edmonton claimed the Competitive Division title, and $2500 for the win. Scoffin defeated Edmonton rival Warren Cross in the final with a last rock draw to the four-foot.  The team also squeaked by Dawson Creek’s Jeff Ginter in the semi-finals. Cross advanced to the final by defeating Dawson Creek’s Stefan Pavlis in the semis. Team Scoffin members include skip Thomas Scoffin, third Tristan Steinke, second Jason Ginter, lead Brett Winfield and coach Rob Krepps. Both Steinke and Ginter are former Dawson Creek residents. Three Grande Prairie squads skipped by Kurt Balderston, Colin Griffith and Graham Powell were ousted in the quarter-finals. Current Tour standings have Balderston in first and Ginter in second place after three events in the Competitive Division.

In the Challenge Division, Team Jade Cash ATM of Grande Prairie claimed the title and the $1250 first prize. Serge Martin serves as the team’s skip, along with third Ryan Lewis, second Vernon Boyd and lead Matt Bordian. Martin defeated Dave Derewianko of Peace River in the final.  Marlene Maxwell and Mark Heartt’s Dawson Creek teams earned semi-final berths.  Quarter-finalists included Grande Prairie’s Janais DeJong, Janet Plante, Marc Luckwell and Fort St. John’s Bob Cooper.  Current Challenge Division standings have Martin, DeJong and Cooper ranked 1-2-3.

The next and final tour stop on the Peace Curling Tour is in Peace River December 9th -11th.  The top 8 in each division will qualify for the Tour Championship in mid-January.

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

City of Fort St John to hold Open House on Kin...

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - The City of Fort St. John will be holding an Open House in regards to the future of Kin...