19.6 C
Fort St. John
Sunday, May 19, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home News Lilia Hansen sworn in as 7th member of Council

Lilia Hansen sworn in as 7th member of Council


FORT ST. JOHN, B.C.- Lilia Hansen is the newest Council member in Fort St. John.

Director of Legislation and Administration Janet Prestley read the oath of office as Hansen repeated before signing on the dotted line and officially becoming a member of council.

Hansen is excited about her new position and will be keeping busy in the next couple weeks with getting up to speed with everything being a council member presents.

Mayor Lori Ackerman said she is relieved to finally have seven members of council once again. “It’s always great to have more voices on an given subject, especially when council members are not completely in agreement, which can happen in the busy city we live in,” said Mayor Ackerman.

This comes two weeks after Hansen won the by-election with 256 votes, winning by 14 votes.

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

City of Fort St John to hold Open House on Kin...

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - The City of Fort St. John will be holding an Open House in regards to the future of Kin...