17 C
Fort St. John
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home Sports Huskies win three NWJHL awards

Huskies win three NWJHL awards


FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – Three Fort St. John Huskies picked up NWJHL awards Saturday.

The league announced 2017/2018 award winners that included three members of the Fort St. John Huskies.  The top defenceman went to Jared Loewen of the Huskies, top goaltender was given to Johnathan Bateman and Todd Alexander was named the coach of the Year.

Carolyn Krauss, former president of the Huskies, was also recognized.  Krauss was given the Al Spence Meritorious Award.  The Al Spence Meritorious Service Award was created in 2015 and awarded annually to a person in the league who has contributed their time to help promote and grow the league, just like Mr. Spence did.

Other winners included Wesley Shipton of the Dawson Creek Junior Canucks.  Shipton was the named the MVP and Top Scorer.  Trey Nichol of the Cancuks was named the Most Gentlemanly and Rookie of the Year went to Colby Winia of the Beaverlodge Blades.

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

MS Society Fundraiser Night and Walk this weekend in Fort St....

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - The 2019 MS Walk is taking place this Sunday, with a kick-off event happening on Friday, May 24. Board member...

Update on the Town of High Level