NPHL announces regular season award winners, Flyers among recipients

#19 Rick Cleaver fights for position vs Manning Comets player. Photo by Brady Ratzlaff.

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – The North Peace Hockey League announced its regular season award winners this week.

The Flyers Rick Cleaver was awarded the West Division’s MVP honours after finishing the regular season with 22 goals and 17 assists in 18 games, two points behind Cedric Harvey of Falher for the league lead. Cleaver was also awarded the NPHL’s Best Left Winger for the third consecutive year. He led the league with NPHL in goals and tied in powerplay goals with six.

Flyers head coach Andrew Leriger took home Coach of the Year honours for the second time in back-to-back years. Leriger guided his team to the Lawrence Cup after finishing with a league-best 13-5 record, a feat he accomplished last year as well. Leriger is the second head coach in team history to win the award with the other being Bob Kalb in 2004-05.

“[Rick] Cleaver had another great year,” said General Manager Lee Hartman. “Andrew has put in a lot of time and the results show, as both are well deserving. Flyers executives are very proud of the team this year. Some guys weren’t award winners, but we know we have many valuable players.”

Additionally, Cleaver, right winger Jeff Shipton and defenceman Reid Campbell were named West Division All-Stars.