Fort St. John’s 11th list of Community Award nominees announced

Must Read

84 new cases of COVID-19 across BC, one new case in Northern Health Region

VICTORIA, B.C. – 84 new cases of COVID-19 were confirmed across the province, bringing the total to 4,358, as...

City and County of GP both see one new additional case of COVID-19

GRANDE PRAIRIE, A.B. - Alberta Health Services has reported one additional case of COVID-19, on Friday, August 14, for...

Why BC’s Illicit Drugs Are Increasingly Deadly

British Columbia’s illicit drug supply has become increasingly dangerous during the COVID-19 pandemic as borders are closed...

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. — The City of Fort St. John has revealed the list of nominees for the upcoming 11th Annual Community Awards.

The City of Fort St. John unveiled the list of nominees over the weekend, after nominations closed on March 8th. The list of nominees for each category is as follows:

Cultural Award

- Advertisement -

Community Interviews with Moose FM

The Cultural Award recognizes an individual or a group for their volunteer efforts in historical, visual, performing, or literary arts. Individuals may demonstrate excellence in an artistic field, increase artistic and cultural opportunities within the community, or encourage local residents to reach and expand their potential through culture. Russell Eggleston was the 2017 winter of the Cultural Award.

2018 Nominees:

  • Riley Palmer
  • Sue Popesku
  • Bonnie Anderson
  • Joan Patterson
  • Catherine Ruddell

Recreation Award

The Recreation Award recognizes an individual or a group for their volunteer efforts in the promotion, organization, support, and/or motivation of sports, recreation, and leisure pursuits including healthy and active living. Individuals may demonstrate excellence in an athletic discipline, increase sport and recreational opportunities within the community, encourage local residents to reach and expand their potential through recreation and wellness by promoting healthy lifestyles, personal well-being and health in Fort St. John. Bo Hedges was the 2017 winner of the Recreation Award.

2018 Nominees:

  • Connor Bull
  • Shannon Garbe
  • Rebecca Pruden
  • Mike Hamre
  • Neil Evans
  • Crystal Cup
  • Paul van Nostrand
  • Justin Donally @ Five Star MMA
  • Chantelle Yates
  • FSJ Disc Golf Sports Club
  • Clint Warkentin
  • Marissa Jordan
  • Jenna Hildebrand
  • Gail Weber
  • North Peace Cricket Foundation
  • Paul Kalas
  • Lee Hartman
  • Broyden Bennett
  • Sterling Middleton
  • Darren Sinder
  • Lori Coulter
  • Dan Turner
  • Annika Hedican

Literacy Award

The Literacy Award recognizes special contributions of an individual or group that has made an outstanding contribution towards promoting in areas including literacy, language, multiculturalism and community issues in Fort St. John.  The award covers a wide spectrum of the field, including family, health, workplace and community. Morgan Churchill was the 2017 winner of the Literacy Award.


2018 Nominees:

  • Irene Gut
  • Kim Boettcher
  • Mona Khanbabaei
  • Matt Preprost
  • Karen Sutherland
  • Teachers of Dr. Kearney

Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award recognizes an individual or a group of volunteers whose actions, commitment, volunteer leadership, service and community spirit have made a difference in the lives of those in the community. It recognizes initiatives that serve to promote awareness of accessibility in the community, outstanding contribution towards promoting or facilitating resource reduction, or demonstrate a genuine commitment to providing a better future for the lives of our residents. Faisal Rashid was the 2017 winner of the Humanitarian Award.

2018 Nominees:

  • Trevor Bolin
  • Fort St. John Pride Society
  • Amanda Trotter
  • Alan Yu
  • Tina Neufeld
  • MCC Thrift Shop
  • Allyson Sperling
  • Natalie Braun
  • Women’s Resource Society
  • Russell Eggleston
  • Brenda Baumeister
  • 100 Women Who Care
  • North Peace Sr. Housing Society
  • Steve Brousson
  • Jen Pimm
  • On our Way Home
  • Esther Habb
  • Fillanthropy Movement
  • Edwina Nearhood
  • Elizabeth Calder
  • Tami Peters
  • Gord Sandhu
  • Laurie Cardinal
  • Brian Baldry
  • Troy Henderson
  • Bob Corbett
  • Bonnie Isenberg
  • Roxanne Chmelyk

Youth Award


The Youth an individual under the age of 19 who has made a positive contribution to the community on a volunteer basis such as developing a project, serving on a committee and/or other volunteer work with organizations and groups.  Youth in this category may display outstanding qualities, provide leadership, support their peers, overcome challenges and/or contribute to their community in a meaningful way. Mustafa Faisal was the 2017 winner of the Youth Award.

2018 Nominees:

  • Emma Lavigne
  • Jaycee Bird
  • Trinity Douglas
  • Mohammed Faisal
  • Desirae Wiebe
  • Landon Tolsma
  • Hunter Faminow

Mayor’s Citizen of the Year

The Mayor’s Citizen of the Year Award recognizes an individual that has achieved positive notoriety outside our community for their actions, is recognized as leaders or role models by their peers, or has won international, national, or provincial titles or awards for their efforts. The recipient acts as an ambassador for our community and has recognized Fort St. John as their home and the community where they built and honed their skills and abilities. Cindy Dettling was named Citizen of the Year by Mayor Lori Ackerman in 2017 or her work with the Safe Stop Campaign.

2018 Nominees:

  • Steven Cooper
  • Alan Yu
  • Adam Reaburn
  • Ella Fraser

The 2018 Community Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, April 19th at the Lido Theatre. Live entertainment will be provided by Adam Winn, along with speeches from special guests Doug Petersen and the organizing committee of the Crystal Cup.

More Articles Like This