21 C
Fort St. John
Monday, May 20, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home News Nominations for 11th Annual Community Awards close Thursday at 4:00 p.m.

Nominations for 11th Annual Community Awards close Thursday at 4:00 p.m.


FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – Nominations for the City of Fort St. John’s 11th annual Community Awards Gala will be closing this week.

Once again, residents have the option of submitting their nominations online at https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/XNY5LYD. Nomination forms can also be picked up at City Hall, the North Peace Leisure Pool or the Pomeroy Sport Centre.

The five categories for nominations are:

  • Cultural Award
  • Literacy Award
  • Recreation Award
  • Humanitarian Award
  • Youth Award (nominees must be under the age of 18)
  • Mayor’s Citizen of the Year

Last year, the father and son duo of Faisal Rashid and Mustafa Faisal were the recipients of the Humanitarian and Youth awards respectively. Russell Eggleston was the winner of the Cultural Award, Bo Hedges won the Recreation Award, and Cindy Dettling was named Citizen of the Year by Mayor Lori Ackerman for her work with the Safe Stop Campaign.

For more information about the Community Awards, contact Lisa Rowbotham at (250) 787-5791 or [email protected].

The deadline to submit nominations is Thursday, March 8th, at 4:00 p.m.

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

Carbon tax, desk thumping on agenda in upcoming Alberta legislature session

EDMONTON, A.B. - Alberta Premier Jason Kenney's government heads to the legislature this week to make noise with an ambitious legislative agenda while trying...