19.6 C
Fort St. John
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
9924 101 ave Fort St. John, B.C.
Home Sports Fort St. John Elks skate away with five B.C. Speed Skating awards

Fort St. John Elks skate away with five B.C. Speed Skating awards


FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – The British Columbia Speed Skating Association awards were announced over the weekend.

The Fort St. John Elks were well-represented as they came home with a total of five awards.

Elks Head Coach Richard Stickel was awarded with Coach of the year honors. Stickel was given the award due to the fact that he has been involved with the Elks and in the speed skating community for 25 years. Sticker has been the head coach of the club since 2001 and has logged over 2500 volunteer hours. Stickel represented Team BCSSA at multiple national events as well as Team B.C. at the 2015 Winter Games.

- Advertisement -

The remaining awards won are shown below:

  • National Long Track Male Skater of the Year: Denny Morrison 
  • Provincial Short Track Female Skater of the Year: Jaime Lee
  • Most Improved Club: Fort St. John Elks
  • Most Competitive Club: Fort St. John Elks

get the latest news in your inbox



Local Events

Must Read

Chamber Luncheon with Kelly McTaggart of CAPP

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - This month’s speaker for the Fort St. John Chamber speaker luncheon was Kelly McTaggart of the Canadian Association of...