Advertisement

Doig River First Nation members to compete at international hockey tournament

(Left to right) Landen Taylor, Kyler Davis, and Mell Makadahay of the Doig River First Nation. Photo by Amber Attachie.
Advertisement

PRAGUE, CZECH REP. – Excitement is building in Northeast B.C. as three members of the Doig River First Nation will represent Canada in an international hockey tournament in Prague, Czech Republic.

Landen Taylor, Mell Makadahay, and Kyler Davis were selected to play for the Team Canada Polar Bears in the Peewee and Bantam divisions. Joining the three will be Brodie Gibb of the West Moberly First Nation and Rielly Giesbrecht from Fort St. John.

The Bantam team will travel to Iceland on Wednesday where they will begin their tour of the European countries. After Iceland, the Bantams will visit Germany, Austria and the Czech Republic, where they will have two training sessions with Czech coaches before playing in the Moravia Cup Tournament.

The Peewee team will travel to Venice on July 31st and visit Italy, Slovenia, Austria, Slovakia and the Czech Republic. Both teams will play exhibition games in each country they visit.

Advertisement

The tournament will feature teams from all across Canada, U.S.A, the European Union and more. The two team’s schedules for their European Hockey Tour are shown below:

Peewee team itinerary:

Advertisement

Advertisement

Tuesday, July 31 – Fly to Venice, Italy.

Saturday, August 4 – Exhibition game in Vienna, Austria.

Monday, August 6 – Exhibition game in Ljubljana, Slovenia

Tuesday, August 7 –  Tournament game 1 in Prague, Czech Republic

Wednesday, August 8 – Tournament game 2 in Prague, Czech Republic

Thursday, August 9 – Tournament game 3 in Prague, Czech Republic

Advertisement

Friday, August 10 – Tournament game 4 in Prague, Czech Republic

Saturday, August 11 – Tournament game 5 in Prague, Czech Republic

Sunday, August 12 – Tournament final game 6 in Prague, Czech Republic.

Monday, August 13 – Travel home

Bantam Itinerary:

Wednesday, July 25 – Fly to Keflavik, Iceland

Sunday, July 29 – Exhibition game in Nitra, Slovakia.

Monday, July 30 – Training session in Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic

Tuesday, July 31 – Training session in Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic

Wednesday, August 1 – Game 1 Moravia Cup in Prague, Czech Republic.

Thursday, August 2 – Game 2 Moravia Cup in Prague, Czech Republic.

Friday, August 3 – Game 1 Czech Cup in Prague, Czech Republic.

Saturday, August 4 – Game 2 & 3 Czech Cup in Prague, Czech Republic.

Sunday, August 5 – Game 4 & 5 final Czech Cup in Prague, Czech Republic.

Tuesday, August 7 – Travel Home

Story Written by Amber Attachie, edited by John Luke Kieper.

Advertisement