Fraser re-elected as mayor of Taylor

Must Read

City of Fort St John working on plans to reopen facilities

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - As the Province begins to reopen, following the suspension of services due to the...

Active COVID-19 cases continues to drop in BC, 2,207 have now recovered

VICTORIA, B.C. – The total number of confirmed COVID-19 cases in the Northern Health Region is still at 64...

Temporary use permits discussed at PRRD meeting

The Peace River Regional District went over the finer points of temporary use permits on May 28,...

TAYLOR, B.C. – Rob Fraser has been re-elected as mayor of the District of Taylor.

Fraser finished this year’s municipal election with 308 votes, while the District’s former community services director and challenger Laura Prosko got 89 votes.

Three of the four incumbent members of council were also re-elected: Brent Taillefer, Betty Ponto, and Dave Lueneberg, while George Barber chose not to run in this year’s election.

- Advertisement -

Community Interviews with Moose FM

Taillefer got 338 votes, Ponto received 317 votes, and Lueneberg got 270 votes.

Joining the three incumbents is newcomer Michelle Turnbull, who beat the lone other newcomer in the race for the fifth seat on District Council, Sherry Davies.

“It was a very good evening”, said Fraser.

“It was a little painful counting the ballots, it took a long time. We may need to look at going to an electronic system for next time”.

Turnbull received 290 votes, while Davies finished with 134 votes.

In total, there were 402 ballots cast.

Here are the election results.


District of Taylor - Mayor

Laura Prosko89
Rob J. Fraser308X

District of Taylor - Councillor

Michelle A. Turnbull290X
Brent Taillefer338X
Betty Ponto317X
Dave Lueneberg270X
Sherry L. Davies134


More Articles Like This