Minor Hockey Division names to change starting next hockey season

Must Read

B.C. CDC reports 12 active cases of COVID-19 in Northeast B.C.

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - Of the new COVID-19 cases reported in Northern B.C. over the last...

FSJ Medical Clinic makes wearing of face masks mandatory

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - The Fort St. John Medical Clinic has issued a notice requiring all patients and...

City issues $2,000 in fines for improper recycling

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. - Residents of Fort St. John are paying the price when it comes...

FORT ST. JOHN, B.C. – B.C. Hockey has announced that it will be changing the names to its minor hockey divisions, this following Hockey Canada’s decision to change the division names.

Following the recommendations of a task team, B.C. Hockey says the minor hockey age divisions will become U7, U9, U13, through to U21 impacting all minor and female hockey programs under the Hockey Canada umbrella.

The change was initiated by Hockey Canada and its 13 provincial and territorial members and will do away with division names such as peewee and midget.

- Advertisement -

Community Interviews with Moose FM

While the changes apply to minor hockey, Junior and Senior teams will not be affected by this change.

Hockey Canada believes hockey is a sport for everyone and wants all families to feel welcome.

The changes to the minor hockey division names will come into effect at the start of the 2020-2021 season.

For more information, you can visit B.C. Hockey’s website.

More Articles Like This